Vets/Spouses/Widows Medical Need & Home Health Aids Answered....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by VA13, Sep 22, 2014.

1. VA13

VA13 Newbie

Hello, I'm new. I've been helping my mom (widow of vet) since 2004 and have learned a lot regarding medical needs.....

Your loved one does not have to see a VA doctor for medical help. Medicare will pay other doctors. Medicare may pay for all or part of the expense. Also, check to see your loved one has CHAMPVA medical insurance or another type of medical insurance which will pick up what Medicare does not. If they do not have Medicare or CHAMPVA, enroll them. VA may also have other insurance types they my qualify for. Sometimes loved ones forget they have medical insurance, so ask.

Many Geriatric doctors take Medicare. Even therapists. This is especially important when your loved one is in need of medical evaluations to apply for various VA pensions. I haven't had to take my mother once to see a VA doctor or hospital. It's all been taken care by Medicare or CHAMPVA insurance. Medicare also pays for her to see a podiatrist. If one doctor doesn't take Medicare, another one will, just keep searching.

If your loved one is having trouble leaving their home, there's Mobile Doctors who make house calls which Medicare pays for. Many of them also take other types of insurance, so ask.

Also, if a doctor evaluates your loved one and sees there's a need for "temporary" Home Health Care, the doctor can assign a certified Home Health Care agency on his list or you can find a certified HHC along with doctor approval. Medicare will pay for it.