WWII EX-POW Dementia

Discussion in 'Share Your Personal Experience' started by kciwood, Sep 30, 2012.

1. kciwood

kciwood Newbie

I'm a Vietnam Vet and my father is WWII Ex-POW 88 years old with a 90% disability but receives 100%. The VA Hospital he goes to held him and called myself and sister telling us he has dementia and must be placed in a facility the VA will pay for. Two weeks after he entered that facility I had a call from a VA Social Worker who spoke with my father. She said he can shave, shower, and eat on his own so he doesn't fit the criteria to stay at that facility. She said we would have to find a place for him and he would have to be responsible for the costs. He can't remember our names and is confused most of the time.

Any help or clarifications you can give would be more than appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

2. vetadmin

vetadmin Administrator Staff Member

You need to call her back and tell her that the Dementia qualifies him as he needs to be in a protective area and does not have the mental capacity to handle his affairs and needs suprervision.

The VA would rule him mentally incompetent due to the diagnosis of dementia, and if he were to go to a private facility, he would get the full award.

This person needs an education in the qualifers of Aid and Attendance.

3. kciwood

kciwood Newbie