Heath-aide employment taxes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jayencee, Jan 31, 2015.

1. jayencee

jayencee Newbie

I am a Vietnam era vet recently approved for A & A with a question on employee taxes. I currently have two part time aides helping me. As their employer I must pay the employer's share of SSA, Medicare, FUCA, workman's comp, etc. which adds roughly 20% to their gross pay. Is this a VA medical deduction? If so, do I claim reimbursement when I pay Schedule H taxes in April or estimate them now? What if my care needs change? How do I report this? I like the forum and have found useful information here.

2. vetadmin

vetadmin Administrator Staff Member

Welcome.

Have to say you pose a question that we have not dealt with. I don't know of anyone who has paid as an "employer" of aides. Generally they are responsible for reporting their income on their taxes, and will have to hope a couple of our experts here can chime in on this.

3. jayencee

jayencee Newbie

It is my belief if you pay a health aide more than $1000 a quarter or more than $1900 annually you must report this to the IRS under the "Nanny Tax" law. I hope I'm wrong, but when the VA did away with annual EVR repeporting they now use SSA and IRS info to verify continued eligibility.

4. VA Legal Team

VA Legal Team Full Member

I don't believe it is an unreimbursed medical expense; but I'm not certain. I've never encountered that as an UME in Part 3 of Title 38 or WARMS (tells VA employees how to do their job).

However, let me ask you this: do you receive all or some of those taxes back via refund? If yes, then they aren't unreimbursed. If you do receive a refund, remember that income tax refunds are not counted as income by the VA.

5. jayencee

jayencee Newbie