General Information - I am new to this situation and I have a few questions

Discussion in 'How to Apply Questions' started by danb, Mar 29, 2012.

1. danb

danb Newbie

After a careful reading of the wonderful VeteransAid site I believe my parents are eligible for "A&A" help. My father is 89 and a proud WWII. My mother is 88. Dad suffered a debilitating stroke 18 yrs ago, but has managed along with my mother and the help and love of his children to continue to live on their own in their own home. However recently this has changed. Our family and my parents believe that they can continue to live in their home, but it is now obvious that they now need some regular daily home care 2 or 3 hours a day - probably 5 days a week. I have started the process for "A&A" but I am afraid I have a couple of "beginner" questions.

1) When my Dad suffered his stroke 18yrs ago, after his release from the hospital he was able to use the local VA hospital for some speech rehabilitation and therapy. It was years ago and only for several weeks, but he was issued a "Veterans Universal Access Identification" card with an ID number. I assume this helps but I am not sure how. Any thoughts or experience here ?

2) Does this ID number imply that the VA already has certain of the required info, i.e. separation papers, any financial data, doctor's certification, etc ?

3) I believe that in the site information there was a form listed that the vet could file right away to "time stamp" his application. I seem to remember that this should be done only if you could complete the process within the following 30 days. Is this right ?

Deepest thanks in advance for any help.

2. vetadmin

vetadmin Administrator Staff Member

First of all welcome, and we hope you will find the forums helpful in getting you through this application process.

1) Don't worry about this ID card. Just make the application based off of his service date.