Discussion in 'Share Your Personal Experience' started by MARYINVIRGINIA, Jul 29, 2008.

1. First of all let me thank you for the great service you are doing by your web-site. I am just getting started on applying for this pension for my 83 year old mother who has Parkinson's and broke her hip a couple of years ago and requires home caregivers at this time. In the two years that she has needed caregivers she has almost gone through her savings and I was so happy to learn of this VA pension (wish I had learned of it two years ago!) that she probably could have been receiving all along. The paperwork seems overwhelming at this time but I am sure it will be worth it in the long run. I just have a couple of things that I am not quite sure about at this point and thought you could help. My mother is spending around $1600 a month on caregivers and her monthly income is $1134 (social security $834 and $300 from a $25000 annuity in a montly payment). Her rent and living expenses take up all of the $1134 and them some and the $1600 for the caregivers is coming from her savings (the annuity). Would she only be eligible for the difference in these amounts? She has around $5500 in checking that I use for her caregivers and needs. I know some would say at least you have money but as you can see she is spending more than is coming in and at a very rapid pace and I am afraid for the future for her and her continued health care needs and at this rate it won't last long. I need to help her get the full benefits amounts. We have not paid for her final burial expenses and I was wondering if we should do that before we apply? I have been told to set this money up in a burial trust as soon as possible. When I apply do I include a copy of her rental contract to show her rent and electric bill etc to show her expenses? What about the cost for the private caregivers? I write a check each month (from her checking account which I am on and wondering if that would be an obstacle ). Do I inclu