A&A for Korea Vet

Discussion in 'Veteran Application' started by sdpt, Aug 23, 2015.

1. sdpt

sdpt Newbie

Hello Everyone,

One more newbie here just starting to navigate the process on behalf of my 86 year-old widowed father.

Dad served in the Army Stateside for two years during the Korea Conflict.
    In May 2015 he was diagnosed with Stage IV brain cancer. He is now post-surgery and six-week hospital/rehab stay,
    followed by three weeks' radiation/chemo. Requires 24/7 home care to perform basic daily functions and to ambulate
    (always a fall risk due to the tumor, its treatment, and previous diabetic foot fracture/neuropathy condition.)

Cost of home care alone has already placed Dad's finances in monthly deficit. Only income/asset is SS and very small non-interest bearing checking acct (about $10K and falling fast due to home care plus Medicare and prescription drug ins. premiums, and other monthly medical/medication expenses).

Resides with Significant Other in her home (together for 25 yrs.) She would like him to continue to be cared for in her home
    rather than in a nursing home. His long-term prognosis is poor.

Time being of the essence I'm trying to submit a FDC and to do it right the first time. Kindly bear with me as I ask some very basic

In general is it recommended to leave no field untouched-that is, to write Not Applicable (N/A) if an item does not apply?

Specific questions about Physician Statement:

Item 5: Claim Number
    -- Never filed before-don't yet have a claim number. Should I leave blank or answer: No Claim Number?

Item 26: Meds Management
    -- When answering Yes to need for medication management, does the VA want to see a copy of current meds list?

Specific questions about supporting docs for Form 21-527EZ:

Section I:
    Item 10: VA Med Ctr & Treatment Dates