Why hasn't Congress added the Beirut-Lebanon Crisis?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by greginmaine, Apr 7, 2008.

1. greginmaine

greginmaine Newbie

I am a USN veteran of 8 years. Recently I became unable to work due to an injury that I sustained during my first tour in the Navy (I was in from 1981-1989). While I am awaiting my compensation claim (6 months waiting), and while I am waiting for my Social Security Disability to be approved (at the first appeal process) - I have depleted my savings, sold off all of my assets... Now I face foreclosure, have no income and I am told that I can not file for temporary pension or get any monetary help from the VA... BECAUSE I DID NOT SERVE DURING A WARTIME PERIOD. What was Lebanon and Grenada??

Ok, so I looked at the fine print and this is what I found:
    "Congress has not enacted legislation that would make the periods covering the 1983-1984 Lebanon crisis or the invasions of Grenada and Panama wartime service."

Is there a Bill or anything before congress that will allow us Vets that served during the 1983-1984 Lebanon Crisis??

Any help or direction would be helpfull. I live in Maine, go to Togus VA Hospital for care, use the DAV as an Advocate (Power of Attorney) for my claim with the VA. BUT, I am feeling hopeless untill either my Social Security Disability, or VA Compensation gets approved and kicks in.

Greg
    g_dunican@yahoo.com

2. veteranadvocate

veteranadvocate Full Member

Greg,

First of all, thank you for your service. I fully understand your feelings and I agree with your comments. One of my ‘pet peeves’ is when our politicians use the words crisis; conflict; police action; etc instead of war. When our military personnel are dying in a ‘combat zone’ then it is or should be called a war.