what benefit amounts are possible?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ClaudiaW, Oct 14, 2012.

1. ClaudiaW

ClaudiaW Newbie

hi - I have read different things about the monthly benefit amount that a surviving spouse might be granted. I've read that someone on medicaid will receive only $90/month, but my mother does not receive medicaid and is not in a nursing home. Is it either $90/month or the full (highest) amount? Or is there a range of benefit amounts that might be granted depending on --what? expenses, need,living situation....?
    thank you!

2. Red Headed Mommy

Red Headed Mommy Jr. Member

Hi ClaudiaW:
    Welcome to the world of learning...I am NOT an expert on this (Debbie, vetadmin--the founder of this awesome site is the best!) but I have successfully navigated the process for my father in law, and get excited to hear of others taking utilizing this site. I have spent HOURS on this...

Currently (effective December 1, 2011), the MAXIMUM is $13,128 per year (or $1,094 per month ) for a surviving spouse of a qualified veteran. There is a range of benefits that may be awarded based on medical expenses. I am going to "cut and paste" some information on the forum to help you...This process is confusing to learn....

Do NOT count their residence or vehicle when estimating net worth.

Do NOT count a life insurance policy (because the policy holder must be
    deceased in order to benefit from it).

DO count CDs, annuities, stocks, bonds, savings, checking, IRAs, Keogh,
    etc.

DO count any assets owned by the spouse as well.

As a rule of thumb, assets should not exceed $80,000. That amount drops
    depending on the age of claimant.

List below the estimated ANNUAL income of the veteran or surviving spouse:

Estimate total income (If married include spousal income): ______

All income must be included. This includes social security, pension,
    interest income, dividends, income from rental property, etc.