I'm a Newbie, BUT ...

Discussion in 'Share Your Personal Experience' started by TryingToHelp, Dec 2, 2012.

1. TryingToHelp

TryingToHelp Newbie

;D

I am a retired Veteran Service Representative (VSR) and STILL and ALWAYS WILL BE an ADVOCATE of Veterans and their families FOREVER!

I hope that I will be able to help those on this site. I don't want to over-step my boundaries though, so if I say something wrong or you find it offensive, PLEASE, PLEASE tell me!

Most of my time as a VSR I worked in the Public Contact field. I LOVED my job! How often do you hear that from a VA employee??? Anyway, I have a lot of knowledge about a lot of different aspects of the VA. When I first started working for the VA, I worked in the health care facility, then I worked as an Office Manager at at Vet Center (which is my 1st Fav Job with the VA), so I have knowledge of Post Traumatic Stress as well.

Anyway, I have LOTS OF KNOWLEDGE that I am willing to share! I know Nonservice-Connected Pension as well as Service Connected Compensation and a few things in between!

2. 55leland

55leland Newbie

Thank you so much for your service to the VA and your willingness to help verterans who are not familar with VA rules and regulations.

I have a question that you might be able advise me about.

My Mother-in-law is now in an assited living facility, she is 91 years old, and we are in the process of applying for VA aid and assistance. Her total assets are about $30,000 plus here home (where her daughter lives and where she was taken care of by her daughter for the past 4 years). Her only income is SS ($1600/mo). Her husband is deceased and a WW II verteran.