Great News- A&A Pension Approved AND First Check Sent AND Retroactive Money Sent

Discussion in 'Share Your Personal Experience' started by nikiatl, Feb 9, 2011.

1. nikiatl

nikiatl Newbie

My sweet dad, who is in a nursing home suffering from Parkinson's Stage V, last week not only received notification of his pension being approved but within three days received 24 months of retroactive payments and within a week the first monthly check was in the mailbox!

My mom and I have been working on my dad's A&A for two years. Since I had not yet discovered this wonderful forum, I mistakenly applied too early for A&A in anticipation of inevitable care that would be required for him; first in-home aides and then a nursing home. After the initial application, he was accepted into the program based on his disability but denied the pension since he wasn't spending enough on healthcare yet. A year later, and many in-home caregivers later, he went to a nursing home and after he was there for one month we re-applied for the benefit. Plenty of paperwork, questions, and phone calls were made along the way but exactly one year after the second try, his claim was approved. I'd like to also mention that once my dad's congressman made a call to the VA, the approval letter was in the mail less than a week later.

This monthly money takes so much pressure off my mom and allows my dad to stay in the environment he is familiar with, surrounded by wonderful caregivers. Thanks for this awesome forum and website. So many of my questions were researched and answered here. My recommendation for anyone going through this process is to have lots of patience and know there's a light at the end of the tunnel. I just wish I could say that about Parkinsons Disease and pray one day in the near future there will be a cure.

2. swainlaw

swainlaw Newbie

Congratulations on working your way through the system.