Any advice, anyone?

Discussion in 'Share Your Personal Experience' started by perky, Jun 8, 2012.

1. perky

perky Newbie

My dad passed away from cancer in 1996. He completed service in the AF during the Korean War, so we are pretty sure mom qualifies for the A&A Pension. Mom has lived alone ever since my father’s death. In 2000 she had a debilitating stroke, went through extensive rehab and healed enough to retire at age 65 in 2002.
    Her health has slowly and steadily declined. Her driving license was revoked a couple of years ago (I think in 2009), so she has been homebound ever since. Her only income is her $950 Social Security, has had practically no money for the past 2 years and mortgaged her home in 2010 to have enough money to live on.
    In December 2011 we noticed that she was more feeble than ever. I came home from Italy (I am a permanent resident there) and arranged for a care giver to come in 5 days a week to help prepare meals, shop, run errands and check her medications daily. We wanted to put her into assisted living then, found out about the A&A but thought we should apply first and wait out the approval period, managing with the care giver which cost significantly less. I came back to Italy two weeks later, worked night and day on her application, sent in the Statement in Support of Claim (it was stamped February 9 on the back as the arrival date) which they sent back to me saying they needed more information. Three weeks later, my mom had a heart attack and very nearly died. She was recovered in three different hospitals. I came home, finished the application and sent in all remaining documents on March 24th following the advice I found in this website as carefully as possible. I stated in the cover letter that though we had found a care giver, she had just had a heart attack and we didn’t know if she would be able to return to her home. She then went through cardio-rehab and was recovered in a nursing home until we moved her into an assiste