Aid & Attendance Granted - But Never Received the increase

Discussion in 'Share Your Personal Experience' started by pbar, Dec 17, 2008.

1. pbar

pbar Newbie

I have been banging my head against the wall for 2 years. Here's what happened.

Dad was a WW2 veteran. I applied for Death Pension and for the Aid and Attendance for my mother . A YEAR later I recieved a letter saying that both were approved, and she would receive a check soon. 2 months later a check arrived, but they had the maximum annual rate for 2007 being $7,329 and never made an adjustment for the aid and attendance. We received this in July '08

Every time I call VA, I get someone new and they promise to look into it, or have someone call me, etc. Hospice called them (Mom was about gone by this time) and they at least got a fax from them, but that was just to tell them to have Mom write them to request a reconsideration for correction of payment date for aid and attendance. It is now September. She died a few days after that. (How can you reconsider a correction??) Anyway..

In November, VA sent a letter wanting her signature on a certification that what she wrote was accurate!! (Everything in her letter was just a recap of all the correspondence from VA)
    So I, as executrix of her estate wrote this person back, sending all the necessary certifications as executrix, along with all the legal forms as executirx, etc... Haven't heard a thing from them since.

I called again today, and it is the same old stuff. New person, can't get a phone number for this person who wrote to me. I don't even know if he got it (I didn't send it registered). He probably shredded it. She took my number and told me she would have someone call me. Of course no one did.